Mongolia

It’s always been a dream of  mine to ride a horse across the Mongolian steppe.  Slowly just plodding along, letting the land reveal itself.  On trips like those it seems the real heart of the land doesn’t reveal itself until you put in a good amount of time.  I don’t know how much horseback riding I’ll be doing on my upcoming trip to Mongolia with National Geographic emerging explorer Albert Lin and his team of hardened adventurers , but I know that I’ll be experiencing this land in a way that few people have, ever.  We’ll be traveling through remote areas that are rarely explored, and my job will be to capture this story with my cameras.  It’s a huge honor being invited along on an expedition like this one, and I’m viewing this as an opportunity to show my ability to take photos above water.  At the National Geographic headquarters I’m known as an “underwater guy” but in truth I’ve only shot underwater a fraction of my career.  As you can imagine, I’ll be working my butt off to get the shots they need, and I have plans for some content that I think will surprise, using new technology to its fullest. I don’t know if I’ll be able to blog on this expedition or not, I’ll be in the field the better part of a month.  But that’s half the fun, not knowing what to expect.

About Ben Horton
Highly influenced by his love of travel and adventure and his constant search for something new, his imagery is vibrant with fresh and creative energy. Raised in Bermuda, Ben Horton has spent the majority of his life traveling and seeking out new adventure. Ben is the recipient of the National Geographic Society’s first Young Explorer award for research on Cocos Island involving shark poaching. This led to becoming a photographer for National Geographic, and has allowed Ben to continue his passion for adventure. Follow Ben on Instagram

Leave a Reply

