Saying Goodbye

Last week I lost two of my climbing partners to a climbing accident in Peru.  I’ve shot photos of these guys in some crazy places, and some of the best adventures that I’ve been on were with them.  I’ve lost count of how many friends I’ve lost, but over two dozen is a safe guess.  It begs the question, are these sports that dangerous? Or are the people that I am friends with just pushing boundaries.  I know that they knew the risks, but did they really believe they were at risk?  I mean deep down?  We will never know, but as much as I feel sad that they are gone, it’s not because they didn’t live enough.  They lived more in their short lives than most people could live in 100 years.   I’m saddened because of what they could have done, and for the families that they left behind.    RIP Ben and Gil.

About Ben Horton
Highly influenced by his love of travel and adventure and his constant search for something new, his imagery is vibrant with fresh and creative energy. Raised in Bermuda, Ben Horton has spent the majority of his life traveling and seeking out new adventure. Ben is the recipient of the National Geographic Society’s first Young Explorer award for research on Cocos Island involving shark poaching. This led to a 2 month Expedition to Ellesmere Island in the Canadian arctic with arctic Legend Will Steger. As his career has developed, Ben has adapted writing and the organization of his own expeditions into his career. Ben supports his conservation efforts by working as fashion and advertising photographer.

One Response to Saying Goodbye

  1. Elena says:

    very sorry for your loss… loosing loved ones is never easy..

    Your friends lived their passion and loved what they did ..

    if i die somewhere in a matatu while trying to get from point a to b in Africa or the cord of my bungee will brake .. I would have no regrets .. some people just can’t lie to themselves and not go for it 100% … some people’s passion is greater than fear..

    love, light and peace to you..

    lena

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

